Six Nations Rugby Championship

Football is a gentleman’s game played by ruffians, rugby is a ruffian’s game played by gentlemen

Old rugby saying

Rugby's great championship kicks off on Saturday 3 February with Wales taking on Scotland in Cardiff, France meeting Ireland in Paris and Italy clashing with England at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

The annual Northern Hemisphere rugby union championship is contested at stadiums in the competing nations, with England's home games all played at Twickenham Stadium. This legendary venue is the largest venue in the world devoted purely to rugby. It seats 82,000 people, and is affectionately know as the 'Cabbage Patch' as the land it was built on was an old cabbage field, purchased for just £5,500 in 1907. It is also home to the World Rugby Museum, which has a huge collection of rugby memorabilia and interactive screens showing the greatest moments from the game.

The Calcutta Cup, the annual fixture between England and Scotland, will take place on 24 February at Murrayfield Stadium, in Edinburgh.

Where it all began

Rugby originated in 1823 when a pubil at Rugby School in Warwickshire, William Webb Ellis, picked up a ball during a football match and ran with it. The new game, named after the school, then began to gain popularity around public (private) schools and universities and was formalised in 1845. A Rugby Football Union was formed in 1871 and the first international, England v Scotland, played that same year.

The Six Nations is the sport's oldest competition, starting off as the Home Nations Championship in 1883 between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. This became the Five Nations Championship when France joined in 1910. Which in turn became the Six Nations with the addition of Italy in 2000.

Find out more


The Twickenham fixtures are as follows:
Round 2: England v Wales, 10 February, kick-off at 4.45pm
Round 5: England v Ireland, 17 March, kick-off at 2.45pm


Six Nations Championship
Twickenham Stadium
Whitton Road
Twickenham TW1 1DZ